Trip Reports

Vegas to Reno The Long Way

Vegas to Reno – The Long Way

Jagged X at Awards Ceremony for Vegas to Reno
1919 Jagged X Polaris RZR S Wins Vegas to Reno – The Long Way

Vegas to Reno, The Long Way – The 2009 Vegas to Reno race, which is the longest off-road desert race in the country, took drivers on an elongated path through the desert over three days. Taking the highway from Vegas to Reno is a leisurely 7 hour drive of about 450 miles – but not Folks’ way – it’s now known as the TSCO “Vegas to Reno” – The Long Way!! .. and it’s approximately 1,000 miles one way!

The participants met at Sunset Station Tuesday and Wednesday to check in for the event and have their vehicles, which range from trucks and UTVs to motorcycles, inspected.

Each day held new challenges for the racers, as they traversed more than 300 miles. The fun began on Thursday, when the drivers knocked out the first 332 miles and stop for the day in Tonopah. Day 2 ran from Tonopah to Hawthorne and the finale on Saturday, when those still left raced from Hawthorne to Reno.

Nine UTVs started on Day One, and Four Finished.

Vegas to Reno - Jagged X Polaris RZR S
First Place – 1909 Jagged X

Second Place – 1947 Bi-Polar Racing

Third Place – 1909 Perret Racing

Fourth Place – 1924 Lasher Motorsports

Day Three – Hawthorne to Dayton:


Pit 7

Pit 8



Finish Line

Day Two – Tonopah to Hawthorne:


Pit 5


Pit 6

Pit 7

   Vegas to Reno - Jagged X Polaris RZR S
Pit 8



Work Area

Day One – Beatty to Tonopah:




Starting Line





Pit Three


Finish Line


Work Area








  • 1902 Cory Sappington (44) Peoria, AZ, Jeanette Sappington (43) Peoria, AZ, Mathew T Seay (19) Sun City, AZ, John Geiger () Peoria, AZ, – Yamaha Desert Toyz

  • 1903 Ron Palhegyi (65) Sonora, CA, Ron Sewell (45) Sonora, CA, Dan Palhegyi (37) Folsom, CA, David Estrada (32) Pioneer, CA, – Yamaha Fabtech, Rugged Race Products, OMF, Fox Racing, Palhegyi Design

  • 1909 Pierre Perret (23) Merced, CA, Mark Cummings (22) Miraposa, CA, Daniel Fontes (25) Merced, CA, – Polaris Kwik Komponents, Perret Farms, Modern Finish, Fireball Racing, Bill

  • 1910 Ricky Leard (29) Merced, CA, Phillip Martin (20) Northridge, CA, Richard Leard () Mariposa, CA, – N and S Tractor Co., Tower Works Fabricaiton, Atwater Electric, Victor Produce, Leardco, Kick Rockz Racing, Polaris

  • 1912 Mike Cook (39) Peoria, AZ, Bill Fain (37) Peoria, AZ, John Stitt (36) Peoria, AZ, Joe Conchola (30) Peoria, AZ, – Desert Toyz Motorsports, Cooks Commercial Glazing, Maxxis, OMF, Elka, Lucas Oil, PCI, Ride On, Polaris

  • 1919 Brandon Schueler (20) Peoria, AZ, Chad Riccio (35) Avondale, AZ, Mike West (41) Glendale, AZ, Blake Van De Loo (42) Glendale, AZ, – Jagged X, Polaris, CR Designs, Elka, OMF, Vision X, Simpson, S&S Off-Road, MTA West, Robby Gordon Offroad, Tire Balls, ATL, Trophy Engineering, Fullbore, Polaris

  • 1924 Michael Lasher (30) Riverside, CA, Rick Wallace (54) Oakhills, CA, Tim Orchard (54) Riverside, CA, – Pro Armor, Side X Side Outfitterz, OMF Performance, CST, Fox Racing Shox, Beard Seats, ITP, K&N, Muzzys, Kawasaki

  • 1947 Jim Creagan (47) Yacolt, WA, Aaron Bahner (35) Eden Prairie, MN – Arctic Cat, Vision X Lighting, Greenball Tires

  • 1948 Tabor Cresap (17) Yacolt, WA, Sam Wasson (14) Hovark, WA, Tim Waggoneer (37) Battleground, WA, Kasey Squires (46) Battle Ground, WA – Arctic Cat, Vision X Lighting, Green Ball Tires


You Might Also Like

No Comments

    Leave a Reply