Industry News

Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame Silent Auction and Induction Ceremony to be held at 2010 Off Road Expo

Support the Hall of Fame by Bidding or Donating to the Silent Auction

Off Road Motorsports Hall of Fame
RENO, NV OCTOBER 4, 2010 – The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame (ORMHOF) is pleased to announce that the 2010 Induction Ceremony and a very special Silent Auction will be held at the 2010 Off Road Expo on Saturday October 9, 2010 at the Sheraton Fairplex Hotel next to the Pomona Fairgrounds. The Silent Auction is open to the public, with all proceeds helping to maintain the historic Hall of Fame. The Induction Ceremony will be held earlier in the day and is by invitation only. “We were pleased when Family Events approached us with their offer to support us through a silent auction. We are glad to be associated with the Off Road Expo and look forward to working with Family Events,” said Bob Bower, Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame Executive Director.

The Silent Auction will be Saturday night starting at 7pm in the Vineyard ballroom right off the main lobby at the Sheraton Hotel attached to the Pomona Fairgrounds. Winning bidders at the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame Silent Auction will take away one-of-a-kind treasures including Walker Evans, Steve Sourapas and Jerry McDonald framed Driving Suits. A Jim O’Neil Jersey, Childress framed jersey, pants and goggles on top of a Jim O’Neil helmet hardly starts the list that also includes multiple pieces of artwork, special label wines autographed by inductees and sets of tires from both BFGoodrich Tires and Goodyear. The auction will be closed and winners announced at 10:30pm Saturday night.

The Induction Ceremony will honor individuals who have maintained a lifelong commitment to the off road industry earlier in the day, by invitation only. This years inductees are: Peter K. Brown in the Pioneer Industry Category, Eugene A. (Gene) Chappie in the Pioneer Advocate Category, Chris Haines in the Pioneer Industry Category, Johnny Johnson in the Competition Off Road Racing Category and Rick Péwé in the Recreational Four Wheeling Category. A group of 21 voting committee members consisting of previous inductees and representatives from the Off-Road Recreational, Off-Road Racing, and Off Road Industry groups meets annually to vote on the nominations received each year and submits their choices to the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Face Board of Trustees for final approval. With approval the nominees are inducted to the very honorable Off Road Hall of Fame.

If you have items that you would like to donate to the silent auction to benefit the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame, please contact Bob Bower immediately at or 714-318-9957.

For More Information on each of the Nominees:

About Off Road Motorsports Hall of Fame: The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame was established in 1978 to recognize and honor those individuals and organizations whose lifelong contributions to off-road motorsports have set a standard for others to follow. Housed in Gallery Four of the National Automobile Museum, (The Harrah Collection) in Reno, Nevada since 2003, ORMHOF is visited by over 175,000 ticket buying automotive enthusiasts each year. ORMHOF is funded by donations from individuals, families, and fund raising activities such as this Silent Auction. It is an IRS Code Section 501(c) 3 Non-Profit/Tax Exempt organization. We have conducted induction ceremonies each year since 2004. There are forty-six individuals who have been selected as ORMHOF Inductees. For more information on the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame, please visit our web site at

What: Off Road Hall of Fame Silent Auction

When: Saturday October 9, 2010 7:00pm – 10:30pm

Where: Sheraton Fairplex Hotel and Conference Center Vineyard Room 1, 601 W. Mckinley Avenue Pomona, CA 91768

Tickets: Induction Ceremony, by Invitation Only. Silent Auction, Open to All Bidders

Follow us at: Blog

You Might Also Like

No Comments

    Leave a Reply