Polaris UTV Product Reviews

2009 Polaris RZR S Long Term Review

Long Term Product Review

Polaris RZR S - Long Term Review
2009 Polaris RZR S

Gordons Well, Imperial Sand Dunes Recreation Area – October 2008

In completely stock form, and without even dropping air pressure in the 26″ Maxxis Bighorns, I was able to climb the hill at Patton Valley and Test Hill.  Both of these hills are the steepest that you will find in the south part of the Imperial Sand Dunes.

Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S at the top of Patton Valley Polaris RZR S at the top of Test Hill - Gordons Well Long Travel Polaris RZR S

For pure hilling climbing in the dunes, the RZR S definitely has more power out of the box than the normal RZR and also more than the Yamaha Rhino or Kawasaki Teryx.

Sand Addiction Magazine

Our full review of the RZR S is in Sand Addiction Magazine.

Glamis – January 2009

 April 2009 issue of Sand Addiction
Check out the April 2009 issue of Sand Addiction for this photo on pages 72-73.

  

   Glamis - Flag Pole

Polaris RZR S - Glamis Polaris RZR S - Glamis Polaris RZR S - Glamis Polaris RZR S - Glamis

Polaris RZR S - Glamis Polaris RZR S - Glamis Polaris RZR S - Glamis Polaris RZR S - Glamis

I put 125 miles on our Polaris RZR S this weekend in Glamis.  The RZR S ran flawlessly all over the dunes.  We camped at pad 2 on Gecko Rd. and covered everything from China Wall, the Flag Pole, Lizard Hill, Oldsmobile Hill, Glamis Flats, Osborne Overlook and everywhere in between.

Full trip report.

King of the Hammers – February 2009

King of the Hammers 
Had to tow car 1734 back over to the trailer.  I wouldn’t recommend doing this for long, but it worked fine for the short distance required

  
Side x Side Action Magazine also had their demo RZR S in camp, and we had both out running all over the place on Friday during the buggy race.

 

I used the RZR S all week at Johnson Valley for a chase vehicle and also to get to different parts of the race course to take pictures.  The terrain included everything from sand, to desert whoops, to rock crawling.  Put about 75 miles of very hard riding on the RZR S and it performed flawlessly.

Sand Mountain – March 2009:

Polaris RZR S   

Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S

Father/Son weekend trip toSand Mountain, NV. We had out RZR out as well.  Put 75 miles on the RZR S.  Made it to the top of Sand Mountain, no problem.  Took a long desert ride over to Dixie Valley and then back up through End of the World.

The RZR S performed flawlessly.

Trip Report.

Glamis – March 2009:

 Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S

Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S
Joey from UTVUnderground.com taking the RZR S for a spin. Check out his review:

UTVUnderground.com Polaris RZR S / Fox RC2 Shocks Review

Logged another 100 trouble free miles on the RZR S in Glamis.

Worked with Fox Racing Shox to test out a set of their 2.0 Piggyback RC2 shocks on the RZR.  Check out more pictures and infohere.

Dune Tour Trip Report

Smith Valley, NV – April 2009:

On the way to Pine Grove NFD 059 east of Pine Grove   

Put another 170 miles on the RZR S over Easter weekend exploring northern Nevada. Traveled on fast graded roads, tight washes, up steep hill climbs and up to 9,000 feet.  The RZR S performed flawlessly.

Trip Report

Other Photos:

2009 Polaris RZR S Polaris RZR S - In the dunes near Gordons Well

Links:

Manufacturer Info:

Website: Polaris Industries

Polaris Ranger RZR Sport – Direct link to RZR S on the Polaris website

Polaris Industries, Inc.
2100 Highway 55
Medina, MN 55340
(763) 417-8650

With annual 2007 sales of $1.8 billion, Polaris designs, engineers, manufactures and markets all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), including the Polaris RANGER™, snowmobiles and Victory motorcycles for recreational and utility use. 

 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply